top of page


Bob McJimsey Graduate Student Paper Award

The WCBS sponsors one award, the Bob McJimsey Graduate Student Paper Award, named in honour of a founding member of the WCBS. A citation and a cash prize is offered for the paper judged best graduate student paper presented at the annual conference and subsequently submitted to the competition. The deadline for receipt of papers is announced annually, following the conference.


Past winners include:

  • 2019 (Salt Lake City) Heather Welch (Georgia State University) "'Mother, Mother, you Son has kill'd me!:' Female Voices and Bodies in Early Modern Cases of Murder and Petty Treason."

  • 2015 (Austin) Ryan Butler (Baylor University)  “Reformation Women and ‘She-Bishop’ Hannah More: Care for the Poor in Comparative Perspective.” 

  • 2014 (Calgary) Ashley Sims (University of Alberta) “Settling the Score: Petty Crime and Private Property in Early Modern Scotland.”

  • 2013 (Kansas City) Mandi Barnard (University of Kansas) “Criminality and Ethnic Identity in Victorian London.”

  • 2012 (Las Vegas) Ronnie Morris (York University) “‘On Liking’: Parish Children and the Transition to Apprenticeship in Eighteenth Century London.”

  • 2011 (Denver)  Tobias Harper, (Columbia University) “`Bringing Together’, Falling Apart: The Post-War British Honours System, 1945-1980″

NACBS Prizes, Fellowships, Awards

The NACBS offers a number of prizes, fellowships and awards for research, scholarship, and student travel to the NACBS Annual Meeting. Visit for a full list and details on how to apply.

bottom of page